BRICS Summit 2016: The 8th Edition Begins In Goa

8th BRICS Summit 2016 in Goa, India - October 15-16, 2016

BRICS Summit 2016 in Goa, India
  • India is hosting the 8th BRICS Summit 2016 in Goa and the theme of "India's BRICS Chairmanship is Building Responsive, Inclusive and Collective Solutions". The 2016 BRICS summit will be the eighth annual BRICS summit, an international relations conference attended by the heads of state or heads of government of the five member states Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. 
  • The opening ceremony for the BRICS Summit was held in Goa on 16.10.2016 Sunday. Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Brazilian president Michel Temer, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Chinese President Xi Jinping and South African President Jacob Zuma will discuss global growth prospects and the role of BRICS in leading this global growth. A number of agreements on trade and economic cooperation between BRICS countries will be signed. The BRICS leaders will adopt the Goa Declaration at the end of the summit. 
India's BRICS Chairmanship
  • India. India will hold the chair of the BRICS from February 2016 to December 2016. During India's BRICS Chairmanship, a five-pronged approach will be adopted including Institution building to further deepen, sustain and institutionalise BRICS cooperation; Implementation of the decisions from previous Summits; Integrating the existing cooperation mechanisms; Innovation, i.e., new cooperation mechanisms; and continuation of mutually agreed existing BRICS cooperation mechanisms. 
BRICS and BIMSTEC Outreach Meeting
  • The summit began  with a restricted meeting of the five BRICS leaders, followed by a plenary session, BIMSTEC Meeting, and BRICS and BIMSTEC Outreach Meeting. The summit would revolve around several issues including people-to-people contact, increased business-to-business and people-to-people interactions but terrorism would be discussed prominently.  
BRICS Countries
  • BRICS is the acronym for an association of five major emerging national economies: Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. Originally the first four were grouped as "BRIC" (or "the BRICs"), before the induction of South Africa in 2010.
BIMSTEC Countries
  • The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is an international organisation involving a group of countries in South Asia and South East Asia. These are: Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal.

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post