Sports Affairs: Australia Wins Champions Trophy Hockey Title

14th Champions Trophy Hockey, London

Australia beat India 3-1 in the final of Champions Trophy Hockey tournament in London. India settled for silver after losing to Australia in penalty shootout. Both the teams failed to score a goal even after getting several penalty corners during regulation period and the match went into the shootout to decide the winner. 

Indian team qualified for their maiden Champions Trophy final despite suffering a 2-4 defeat in their final pool match of the tournament against Australia on Thursday. India made it to the summit showdown after Belgium settled with a 3-3 draw against Great Britain in their group clash.

Fancied Australia, looking for their 14th Champions Trophy title, faced a stiff fight from the Indians, who were playing their first final, but raised the level to come within striking distance of the title. 

India's lone previous medal in the Champions Trophy came 34 years ago, when they got a bronze at Amsterdam in 1982. 

About The Hockey Champions Trophy

The Hockey Champions Trophy is an international field hockey tournament held by the International Hockey Federation. 

Founded in 1978 by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan and the Pakistan Hockey Federation, it features the world's top-ranked field hockey teams competing in a round robin format. 

A biennial women's tournament was added in 1987. The Champions Trophy was changed from an annual to a biennial event from 2014 on wards, due to the introduction of the Hockey World League. The 2018 edition will be the last edition of champions trophy.

In the women's tournament 6 teams all play each other to decide the winner. These teams are England, New Zealand, Australia, Netherlands, Argentina and the USA. In 2016 the tournament is held at lee valley in London and it starts on Saturday 18th June.
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post