TNPSC Current Affairs: Sports - ICC Champions Trophy 2017

 ICC Champions Trophy 2017
  • The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy is scheduled to be a One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament held in England and Wales between 1 and 18 June 2017. 
  • This will be the 8th edition of the tournament. The top eight teams in the ICC ODI Championship rankings as on 30 September 2015 qualify for the tournament. The eight teams were divided into two groups of four.
  • Bangladesh replaced the West Indies, who finished outside the top eight in ninth position, in the ICC ODI Team Rankings on the cut-off date. 
  • Bangladesh returned to the ICC Champions Trophy for the first time since 2006, and for the first time a major Test team, the West Indies, lost their place in the Champions Trophy ICC has formally announced the groups for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. 
  • Defending champions India have been seeded second and will take on arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening cricket match of next year's ICC Champions Trophy after the two countries were on Wednesday placed in the same group for the event.
  • Hosts England will face world champions Australia, New Zealand and Bangladesh in Group A of the 2017 Champions Trophy. 
  • Defending champions India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa have been drawn in Group B.
  • World Twenty 20 champions West Indies will not take part because they were ranked outside the top eight sides at the cut-off point in September 2015.
 2017 Event schedule:  ICC Champions Trophy

June 1 – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d) 
June 2 – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d) 
June 3 – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d) 
June 4 – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d) 
June 5 – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n) 
June 6 – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d) 
June 7 – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n) 
June 8 – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d) 
June 9 – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d) 
June 10 – England v Australia, Edgbaston (d) 
June 11 – India v South Africa, The Oval (d) 
June 12 – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d) 
June 14 – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d) 
June 15 – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d) 
June 18 – Final, The Oval (d) June 19 – Reserve day (d).

The Schedule in Tamil Dinamani dated 02.06.2016

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post