India Designates 5 New Ramsar Sites Ramsar recognition as wetlands of international importance.

India has designated five (5) new wetlands of International importance, which include three wetlands (Karikili Bird Sanctuary, Pallikaranai Marsh Reserve Forest & Pichavaram Mangrove) in Tamil Nadu, one (Pala wetland) in Mizoram and one wetland (Sakhya Sagar) in Madhya Pradesh, making a total of 54 Ramsar sites in the country.  

The Ramsar sites have been increased from 49 to 54 Ramsar sites.

Ramsar Convention (1971)
The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance Especially as Waterfowl Habitat is an international treaty for the conservation and sustainable use of Ramsar sites. It is also known as the Convention on Wetlands. It is named after the city of Ramsar in Iran, where the convention was signed in 1971.
Signed: 2 February 1971
Location: Ramsar, Iran
Condition: Ratification by 7 states
Effective: 21 December 1975
Depositary: Director General of UNESCO

Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post