TNPSC General Knowledge: First in India - Awards & Prizes

TNPSC GK: First in India - Awards & Prizes

Awards and Titles

Mr. Universe: Manohar Aich in 1952

Miss World: Reita Faria in 1966. (She was also the first Asian to win the title)

Miss Asia Pacific:
Zeenat Aman in 1970

International Teen Princess:
Radha Bartake in 1974

Miss Teenage Intercontinental:
Elizabeth Anita Reddi in 1978

Miss World Amber : Mala Rai Singani in 1978.

World Miss University:
Priyadarshini Pradhan in 1989

Miss Universe:
Sushmita Sen in 1994

Miss India Worldwide: Karminder Kaur Virk in 1994.

Miss Intercontinental:
Lara Dutta in 1997.

Mr. International:
Aryan Vaid in 2000

Manhunt International: Rajeev Singh in 2001

Miss Tourism International: Candice Pinto in 2001

Mrs. World: Aditi Gowitrikar in 2001

Miss Tourism Queen International: Zabina Abdul Rashid Khan in 2004

Miss World Tourism :
Sonal Chauhan in 2005.

Best Model of the World :
Siddharth Shukla in 2005

Miss Tourism: Priyanka Shah in 2007

Miss Earth: Nicole Faria in 2010

Nobel Prize

1913: Literature: Rabindranath Tagore; was also the first Asian to win the prize

1930: Physics: C. V. Raman; first Asian and first non-white person to win Science nobel prize.

1968: Medicine: Har Gobind Khorana; US citizen of Indian origin

1979: Peace: Mother Teresa; Indian citizen of Albanian origin

1998: Economics:
Amartya Sen

2009: Chemistry:
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan; US citizen of Indian origin

2014: Peace: Kailash Sathyarthi (first Indian-born)


1982: Costume Design: 
Bhanu Athaiya for Costume Design

1992: Honorary Oscar: 
Satyajit Ray

2009: Best Original Song, Best Original Score: 
A. R. Rahman

2009: Sound Mixing: Resul Pookutty 

2009: Best Original Song: Gulzar for 
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post