Current Affairs: UEFA Euro 2016 - Exam Points

EURO 2016  - UEFA European International Men's Football Championship

  • 15th UEFA European Championship, the Quadrennial International Men's Football Championship of Europe organised by UEFA (Union of European Football Associations). It was held in France from 10 June to 10 July 2016. 
  • For the first time, the European Championship final tournament was contested by 24 teams, having been expanded from the 16-team format used since 1996. Under the new format, the finalists contested a group stage consisting of six groups of four teams, followed by a knockout phase including three rounds and the final.
  • Spain were the two-time defending champions, having won the 2008 and 2012 editions, but were eliminated in the round of 16 by Italy. Portugal won the tournament for the first time, following a 1–0 victory after extra time over the host team, France, in the final played at the Stade de France. The winners, Portugal, earned the right to compete at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia.
2016 Euro Champions
  • Portugal (1st title)
2016 Euro  Runners-up 
  • France
Player of the Tournament
  • The Player of the Tournament award was given to Antoine Griezmann (France), who was chosen by UEFA's technical observers, led by UEFA chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu and including Sir Alex Ferguson and Alain Giresse.
Young Player of the Tournament
  • The Young Player of the Tournament award, open to players born on or after 1 January 1994, was given to Renato Sanches (Portugal) who was named above Kingsley Coman and Portugal team-mate Raphaël Guerreiro. The particular player who deserved the award was also chosen by UEFA's technical observers.
Golden Boot
  • The Golden Boot was awarded to Antoine Griezmann (France), who scored one goal in the group stage and five in the knockout phase
Silver Boot
  • The Silver Boot was awarded to Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), who scored two goals in the group stage and one in the knockout phase, as well as providing three assists.
Bronze Boot
  • The Bronze Boot was awarded to Olivier Giroud  (France), who scored one goal in the group stage and two in the knockout phase, as well as providing two assists; compatriot Dimitri Payet amassed the same tally, but played 50 more minutes than Giroud.
Prize money
  • A total of €301 million was distributed to the 24 teams contesting in the tournament, a growth from the €196 million payment in the preceding event. Each team was rewarded €8 million, with further rewards depending on their performances. Portugal, the champions of the competition were awarded €8 million in addition to any prize money earned in earlier rounds – the biggest prize attainable was €27 million (for winning all group matches and the final)
  • Portugal gained 25.5 (Million €) and France gained 23.5 (Million €)
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post