TNPSC Current Affairs: Sports - Saina Nehwal wins Australian Open 2016

2016 Australian Open Champion - Saina Nehwal

  • Saina Nehwal overcame a poor start in the first game to defeat Sun Yu of China 11-21, 21-14, 21-19 in a match that lasted over an hour to clinch the Australian Open Badminton title in Sydney.  This was Saina's Second Australian Open title, having previously won in 2014. 
  • The Indian ace started off brightly by taking a 4-2 lead in the first game but Sun bounced back in style and won the next seven points on the trot. She never let go off the advantage as Saina found the going tough. She lost the first game 11-21 in just 18 minutes and it seemed that a chance to win the tournament would slip away. In the deciding game, Saina took a 3-1 lead but Sun did not allow her to extend the lead. 
  • She maintained the pressure and came back on level terms. Saina took an 8-5 lead but squandered the opportunity as Sun won five points on the trot to surge into the lead.
About Saina Nehwal
  • Saina Nehwal  is an Indian badminton player, former world no.1 in Women's Singles. She is the first Indian to win a medal in Badminton at the Olympics. She achieved this feat by winning the Bronze medal at the London Olympics 2012 on 4 August 2012. 
  • She is also the first Indian after Prakash Padukone and the first Indian woman to become world number 1 badminton player. Besides these, she is the first Indian to win the World Junior Badminton Championships and was also the first Indian to win a Super Series tournament, by clinching the Indonesia Open on 21 June 2009. Saina is supported by the Olympic Gold Quest.
  • Saina was initially coached by S. M. Arif a Dronacharya Award winner, and then by Pullela Gopichand till 2014 September. Saina is the reigning Indian national champion and is currently coached by the former Indian badminton champion and national coach Vimal Kumar. Saina Nehwal played for Hyderabad Hotshots in the Indian Badminton League in 2013. She won silver at 2015 BWF World Championship becoming the first Indian to do so.
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post