Sports Affairs: Chile Wins 2016 Copa America Cetenario Cup (Complete coverage)

  • Champion: Chile
  • Runners-up: Argentina
  • Third place: Colombia
  • Fourth place: United States
  • Man of the Match: Claudio Bravo (Chile)
  • Golden Boot (Top Scorer): Eduardo Vargas (Chile) - 6 Goals, 1 Assists
  • Golden Ball (Most Valuable Player) - Alexis Sanchez (Chile) - 3 Goals, 1 Assists
  • Golden Glove (Best Goalkeeper) - Claudio Bravo (Chile) - 13 Saves, 3 Clean Sheets
  • The Host Country: United States
  • The Copa América Centenario was an international men's association football tournament that was hosted in the United States in 2016. The competition is a celebration of the centenary of CONMEBOL and the Copa América, and is the first Copa América hosted outside of South America.
  • The tournament is the 45th edition of Copa América since its inception in 1916. It was held as part of an agreement between CONMEBOL (the South American football confederation) and CONCACAF (the football confederation for North and Central America and the Caribbean) as a special edition between the usual four-year cycle, and features an expanded field of 16 teams (an increase from the usual 12), with all ten teams from CONMEBOL and six teams from CONCACAF. The winner of this tournament would not have received an invitation to the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, as Chile had already qualified by winning the 2015 Copa América, however Chile coincidentally won this tournament as well (4—2 on penalties).
  • Chile became the fourth nation to win at least two consecutive Copa América titles, after Uruguay, Argentina and Brazil. Argentina, meanwhile, lost their third consecutive final in a major tournament, following a loss to Germany at the 2014 World Cup and Chile at the 2015 Copa América.
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post