Tnpsc Current Affairs: 2017 Australian Open Tennis Champions List

list of australian open champions 2017
2017 Australian Open Tennis Tournament

The 2017 Australian Open was a tennis tournament that took place at Melbourne Park between 16–29 January 2017. 

First Grand Slam tournament of the year -Australian Open

It was the 105th edition of the Australian Open, and the first Grand Slam tournament of the year. The tournament consisted of events for professional players in singles, doubles and mixed doubles play. Junior and wheelchair players competed in singles and doubles tournaments.

Novak Djokovic and Angelique Kerber were the defending champions and both were unsuccessful in their title defense; they lost to Denis Istomin and Coco Vandeweghe in the second and fourth rounds, respectively.For the first time since the 2004 French Open, both No. 1 seeds lost before the quarterfinals, with both Andy Murray and Angelique Kerber defeated in the fourth round.

Roger Federer won his eighteenth men's single Grand Slam title by defeating Rafael Nadal after a five-set final – his first major title since 2012.

Serena Williams overcame her sister Venus Williams in the women's singles final, surpassing Steffi Graf to become the tennis player with most Major wins (male or female) in the Open Era.As in previous years, this year's tournament's title sponsor was Kia

The Champions of 2017 Australian Open 

Men's singles

Roger Federer (Switzerland) Champion won against Rafael Nadal (Spain)  6–4, 3–6, 6–1, 3–6, 6–3

Women's Singles

Serena Williams (United States) Champion won against  Venus Williams (United States) 6–4, 6–4

Men's Doubles

Henri Kontinen (Finland)  / John Peers (Australia) defeated. Bob Bryan (United States( /  Mike Bryan (United States), 7–5, 7–5

Women's Doubles

Bethanie Mattek-Sands (United States) / Lucie Šafářová (Czech Republic) defeated  Andrea Hlaváčková (Czech Republic) / Peng Shuai (China) , 6–7(4–7), 6–3, 6–3

Mixed Doubles

Abigail Spears (United States) / Juan Sebastián Cabal (Colombia) defeated  Sania Mirza (India) / Ivan Dodig (Croatia) , 6–2, 6–4

Boys' Singles (Juniors)

Zsombor Piros (Hungary) defeated Yishai Oliel (Israel) , 4–6, 6–4, 6–3

Girls' Singles (Juniors)

Marta Kostyuk (Ukraine) defeated  Rebeka Masarova (Switzerland), 7–5, 1–6, 6–4


Current Affairs Monthly

December 2017 Current Affairs Model Papers GK Today
November 2017 October 2017 September 2017
August 2017 July 2017 June 2017
May 2017 April 2017 March 2017
February 2017 Januray 2017 Quiz & Online Test

TNPSC Study Materials Downloads

TNPSC General Tamil TNPSC General Science TNPSC History
Indian Constitution General Knowledge TNPSC Geography
Quiz and Online Tests TNPSC Economics Model Questions Answers 8800+
Current Affairs 2017 Government Jobs Today Join - Our Google Groups