TNPSC Study Material TNPSC Notifications 2017 9000+ TNPSC Questions
TNPSC VAO 2017-18 How to Prepare TNPSC TNPSC Annual Planner
TNPSC General Knowledge Daily Quiz & Online Tests Admissions 2018
Current Affairs 2017 Government Jobs Today Join - Our Google Groups

CPJ International Press Freedom Award 2016 for Malini Subramaniyam

Committee to Protect Journalists’ International Press Freedom Awards 2016

CPJ International Press Freedom Award 2016

Malini Subramaniam on 23.11.2016, Wednesday won the Committee to Protect Journalists’ International Press Freedom Awards at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. 

The CPJ chose four journalists, from Egypt, India, Turkey and El Salvador, for the award this year, noting that they have risked their freedom – and their lives – to report to their societies and the global community about critical news events.
CPJ international press freedom award 2016
Malini Subramaniam
பத்திரிக்கை சுதந்திரத்துக்கான சர்வதேச விருது 2016

சத்தீஸ்கர் மாநிலத்தில் வசிக்கும் செய்தியாளர் மாலினி சுப்பிரமணியம், பத்திரிக்கை சுதந்திரத்துக்கான சர்வதேச விருதுக்குத் தேர்ந்தெடுக்கப்பட்டுள்ளார். அவருடன், எல் சால்வடோர் நாட்டின் ஆஸ்கார் மாட்னெஸ் மற்றும் துருக்கியின் கேன் டுண்டர், சிறையில் அடைக்கப்பட்டுள்ள எகிப்திய புகைப்படச் செய்தியாளர் அபு சையது ஆகியோரும் இந்த விருதுக்குத் தேர்ந்தெடுக்கப்பட்டுள்ளனர். நக்ஸல் தீவிரவாதிகள் அதிகம் நிறைந்த பஸ்தர் பகுதியில் செய்திகளை சேகரித்து வெளியிட்டு வரும் அவர், பாதுகாப்புப் படையினரின் அட்டூழியங்கள், பெண்களுக்கு எதிரான கொடுமைகள், போலி என்கவுன்டர்கள் போன்ற பல்வேறு விவகாரங்கள் குறித்து துணிச்சலான கட்டுரைகளை வெளியிட்டு வருவது குறிப்பிடத்தக்கது.

Subramaniam reports from the Maoist belt in Bastar, Chhattisgarh, and has faced threats and censure from authorities for her articles on human rights violations by security forces there. 

In February, a group of protesters threatened to attack her, hurling stones at her house and inciting her neighbours. She was forced to move out of her home, drawing widespread outrage and also support from lawyers, journalists and rights advocates. 

Subramaniam’s experiences and reportage helped bring to national attention the authoritarian crackdown on journalists in the region.

Other Winners of CPJ International Press Freedom Award 2016

The other three winners are freelance photographer Mahmoud Abou Zeid (Shawkan) from Egypt, editor-in-chief of Turkish daily Cumhuriyet Can Dündar and investigative reporter Óscar Martínez from El Salvador. 

The committee gave the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award to CNN’s chief international correspondent Christiane Amanpour “for extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom.”


Current Affairs Monthly

October 2017 September 2017 August 2017
July 2017 June 2017 May 2017
April 2017 March 2017 February 2017
January 2017 Current Affairs 2016 Quiz & Online Test

TNPSC Study Materials Downloads

TNPSC General Tamil TNPSC General Science TNPSC History
Indian Constitution General Knowledge TNPSC Geography
Quiz and Online Tests TNPSC Economics Model Questions Answers 8800+
Current Affairs 2017 Government Jobs Today Join - Our Google Groups