TNPSC Study Materials Current Affairs 2018 10500+ Model Papers

TNPSC Geneal Knowledge: First in India - Governance - Men

Governance - Men

President of the Indian National Congress: Womesh Chandra Bannerjee, 1885

President of the Indian National Congress of independent India: Acharya Kripalani, till November 1947

President: Rajendra Prasad (1950–1962)

Chief Election Commissioner : Sukumar Sen

Industries and Supplies Minister:
Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

Person to resign from the Central Cabinet: Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

Vice-President: Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

Prime Minister: Jawaharlal Nehru (1947–64). India held its first constitutional elections in 1952 after which he was re-elected.

Deputy Prime Minister: Vallabhbhai Patel (1947–1950)

Law Minister of India: B. R. Ambedkar

Leader of Opposition: A. K. Gopalan

Prime Minister to be voted out of office: Indira Gandhi (1977), when the Indian National Congress lost to the Janata Party

Non-Congress government: Janata Party, with Morarji Desai as the Prime Minister (1977–1980)

Non-Congress State government with Majority by a single party:
E. M. S. Namboodiripad of CPI, Kerala 1957

Prime Minister to lead a minority government for a full term (five years): P. V. Narasimha Rao, 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996

Person outside the Nehru-Gandhi family to serve as Prime Minister for a full term (five years):
P. V. Narasimha Rao, 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996

Non Congress Prime Minister to serve a full term: Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Prime Minister from South India:
P. V. Narasimha Rao, 1991, H.D.Deve Gowda

Viceroy of India:
Lord Canning, 1858

Governor-General of India: Warren Hastings, 1773

Governor-General of Independent India: Lord Mountbatten, 1947

Indian Governor-General of Indian Union:
C Rajagopalachari, 1948

Chief Justice of India: H. J. Kania (1947–1951)

First Sikh Prime Minister:
Manmohan Singh (2004–2014)

First Muslim President: Zakir Hussain (1967–1969)

First Sikh President: Giani Zail Singh

Indian ICS Officer: Satyendranath Tagore, 1863

Speaker of Lok Sabha: G.V. Mavlankar (1952–1956)

Finance Minister of Independent India: R.K. Shanmukhan Chetty (1947–1949), for others see First Indian Cabinet

Presentation of First Budget after India's Independence: R. K. Shanmukhan Chetty on 26 November 1947

First Home Minister of India: Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel[15]

First Indian President to die in Office:
Zakir Hussain, 3 May 1969

First Chief Minister to die in Office: C.N.Annadurai, Tamil Nadu

First Indian Prime Minister to resign from office: Morarji Desai, 1979

First Prime Minister to be born after India's independence:
Narendra Modi , 17 September 1950(birth)


TNPSC Current Affairs

January 2018 February 2018 March 2018
December 2017 November 2017 October 2017
September 2017 August 2017 July 2017
January - June 2017 Current Affairs Quiz CA Model Questions

TNPSC Study Materials

General Tamil General Science History
Indian Constitution General Knowledge Geography
Quiz and Online Tests TNPSC Economics Model Questions Answers
Current Affairs 2018 Jobs Today Join-Our Google Groups